The goal that never was | Soccer By Ives

If you think Major League Soccer has problems with officiating, consider Englands Coca-Cola Championship, where referee Rob Shoebridge inexplicably missed a clear goal for Crystal Palace after a Freddy Sears shot went into the goal and bounced back out after hitting the bottom bar at the back of the goal.

The blown call wound up costing Crystal Palace a 1-0 loss to Bristol City, which scored a game-winner in the 89th minute.

If you havent seen the play, here it is:

English officials are aware of the blown call and are pointing the finger at FIFA for not allowing English leagues to employ goal-line technology.

What do you think of the call? Think we could see Shoebridge doing MLS games before the end of the season? Still amazed that FIFA wont back goal-line technology?

Share your thoughts below.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s